Sign In Forgot Password

Rabbinic Heritage

We have enjoyed strong rabbinic leadership over the decades by many rabbis, including:
Liebman Adler Isaac Moses Joseph Stolz Tobias Schanfarber
Gerson Levi Solomon Freehof Jacob Weinstein Morton Berman
Hayim Perelmuter Simeon Maslin Arnold Jacob Wolf  
Four of our rabbis were elected president of the Central Conference of American Rabbis, the rabbinic arm of the Reform movement. Rabbi Weinstein's commitment to social justice inspired KAM to become one of the leading social action congregations in the country. Rabbi's Weinstein and Perelmuter resisted the lure of the suburbs and refused to see KAM and Isaiah Israel abandon the Hyde Park neighborhood during an era of social change. In recent years, we have continued that commitment through nationally-recognized food justice and refugee rights programs. Rabbi Arnold Jacob Wolf continued that commitment and also challenged Reform Jews to recover tradition.


The congregation also has a strong and distinct tradition of music. German-born Max Janowski, a leading composer of 20th century Jewish music, served as music director from 1938 until his death. 
Fri, May 24 2024 16 Iyar 5784